Video wrap-up: A Day at the DCSPCA

After working for the last two and a half weeks to complete this project, I can confidently say that it was a great experience, but a challenging one.  Actually getting permission from the Dutchess County SPCA to make this video was a much more difficult process than I had imagined, because in the past, people have had ulterior motives for coming in to film the shelter.  However, with some help from Zolz, I was able to visit the shelter for a day last week and shadow some of the volunteers there.

Another challenge that I faced while working on this project and filming at the DCSPCA was trying to figure out how much b-roll footage I wanted and how much interview footage I wanted. I ended up going with more b-roll footage because I wanted to focus on showing the beautiful facilities that the DCSPCA has just recently been able to build (the new adoption/education center was finished in 2011) and show the dogs, cats and volunteers doing what they do everyday.

It was awesome to see the work that goes in to making dogs who are abandoned or surrendered to the shelter adoptable and ready to go home with families.  Even though it’s tough work, I could tell from the volunteers and staff that I met that working at the shelter is incredibly rewarding, worthwhile work.  Overall, I had an awesome time completing this project, and I got to meet some really cute dogs and cats, so it was a win all around.

Leave a comment